Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2020

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2020

Cigar Info – Partagas Limited Reserve Decadas 2020

Last October, General Cigar announced a new version of it’s limited Partagas Decadas blend for 2020. This one is dubbed the Partagas Limited Reserve Decadas 2020. As with previous releases, the Partagas Limited Reserve Decadas 2020 is blended with a Cameroon wrapper, this particular one coming from the 2008-2009 crop. General says that only .3% of leaves from that cropare wrapped around the Partagas Limited Reserve Decadas 2020. The rest of the blend is comprised of a Mexican San Andres binder from the 1997-1998 growing season, and proprietary tobaccos from the Dominican Republic (Piloto Cubano from the 2009 crop) and a Mexican San Andreas leaf cultivated in 1997-1998.

This cigar was reviewed blind (no bands) by a panel of at least 4 reviewers. They did not know what they were smoking beforehand. The scores are an average of all the reviewers' scores with outliers removed.

The 2020 comes in one size, “Dalia” which measures 6.75” x 43 and sells for $17.99 per cigar. Only 2,500 boxes of 10 cigars were produced this time. This years Partagas Limited Reserve Decadas 2020 will only be sold through brick and mortar stores. Each cigar comes in its own crystal tube with a hand-applied wax. The cigars are rolled at General Cigar Dominicana in Santiago, D.R.

Vital Stats:

Vitola: Lonsdale
Length: 6 3/4″
Ring Gauge: 43
Country of Origin: Dominican Republic
Wrapper: Cameroon (2008 – 2009)
Binder: Mexican San Andrés (1997–1998)
Filler: Dominican Republic (Piloto Cubano 2009) | Mexican San Andrés (1997–1998)
Factory: General Cigar Dominicana
Blender: Jhonys Diaz and General Cigar Blending Team
Number of reviewers: 5 Ryan H. (Ryan H.) Alan (Eulogy) John A. (Bostoneo) Mickey T. (irratebass) Doug S. (Unpossible_1)
Price: $17.99
Age: 5 Months
Release Date: November 2020
Contributed by: General Cigar

Initial Impressions – Partagas Limited Reserve Decadas 2020

Appearance: 87

“6 3/4 x38 cigar doesn’t look all that appealing. The wrapper is less than paper-thin, multi-colored, and mottled. Has numerous small veins running in all directions. Appears to be double capped. Several hard and soft spots to the bunch.” –Ryan H. (Ryan H.)

Aroma: 90

“Upon cutting the cap off the head of the cigar, I press my lips against it and inhale a cold draw. Simple leather flavors with a pinch of sweetness hit the tongue with a semi-tight draw. Things start to become a little more tantalizing on the nose however… scents of toasted tobacco, old leather, and black peppery earth exude from the wrapper and foot. I certainly cannot wait to light this one up!” –John A. (Bostoneo)

First Third
Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2020

First Third

Flavor: 89
Strength: Mild-Medium
Body/Complexity: Light-Medium

“Upon lighting up I am overwhelmed with a great amount of earthiness; mushroom-like with a good amount of nuttiness. As usual, after a half-inch, the profile settles down into a smooth combination of these flavors that melds well together for a brilliantly medium-bodied profile.” –John A. (Bostoneo)

“The draw feels a little off and the smoke output is very thin. Flavors aren’t working terribly well together. There’s an odd mix of graphite, baking spice, and a slightly floral note.” –Alan (Eulogy)

Second Third
Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2020

Second Third

Flavor: 89
Strength: Medium
Body/Complexity: Light-Medium

“Coming into the second third, a smooth medium-bodied profile, mild/medium in strength, is very similar to the first. Vintage leather, peppery cream, and almonds explode onto the scene for a tasty experience. As it burns down on the backend of this third, flavors begin to focus on the pepper and a new addition of lighter graphite flavors.” –John A. (Bostoneo)

“Cream or buttery flavors decided to show up in this 3rd along with some bubble gum flavors. I’m always surprised when bubble gum flavors come out of cigars. It’s a weird thing, but it works. I am getting more wood and earth tones as this cigar progress into our final third. “-Mickey T. (irratebass)

Final Third
Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2020

Final Third

Flavor: 88
Strength: Medium
Body/Complexity: Medium

“Graphite and black pepper flavors begin to intensify during this third, providing a bump in strength as well as an upgrade to a medium-full flavor profile. Flavors continue to intensify and become syrupy sweet as we come to the natural death of a decent cigar.” –John A. (Bostoneo)

“Some notes of leather warehouse and cinnamon carry over to the last third. Burn and draw continued to perform very well. Not the best cigar but was acceptable.” –Ryan H. (Ryan H.)

Overall Impressions

Draw: 89

“No issues with the draw for it at least.” –Doug S. (Unpossible_1)

Burn: 93

“Nice burn. I only had one relight, but I was outside and reading, so I may have neglected it at one point. No complaints though.” –Mickey T. (irratebass)

Construction: 84

“Too tightly bunched, restricted airflow to maximize flavor.” –John A. (Bostoneo)

Overall Strength: Medium
Overall Body/Complexity: Medium
Experience Overall: 89

“Goes to show judgment by appearance is a bad way to go about things. Was this the best cigar I have smoked clearly not, but having smoked it I would buy and smoke it again. I don’t think many that haven’t smoked this cigar will pick it up because of the subpar appearance.” –Ryan H. (Ryan H.)

“Not my cup of tea. The meaty and floral notes didn’t compliment each other well and there were no profile transitions from beginning to end. I found the smoke to be too thin and the draw was pretty bad as well. I do enjoy this size cigar so it had that going for it at least.” –Alan (Eulogy)

“Overall, this was an okay cigar that would greatly benefit from having a better bunch to loosen the draw a tad. This blend focused on medium to medium-full profiled flavors of vintage leather, black pepper, cream, and some graphite and syrup flavors towards the end. I feel if the tighter draw was loosened a bit, this cigar would explode with great flavor, instead, this sample did not. With that said, it was an okay smoke, which hopefully doesn’t cost too much!” –John A. (Bostoneo)

“This was a very nice smoke. It didn’t turn out to be the spice/pepper bomb that I expected based on its looks. I picked up lots of different flavors including floral, white pepper, creaminess, bubble gum, wood, and earth. I would definitely smoke this again, and would possibly consider a fiver.” –Mickey T. (irratebass)

“My overall experience was not great. Just wasn’t at all that exciting and was quite a dull smoke for the majority. It was sad. I was sad.” –Doug S. (Unpossible_1)

Smoking Time (in minutes): 118

ReviewerAppear.Aroma1/32/33/3DrawBurnConstr.Overall
Experience
Ryan H. 859288909088908388
Alan 929290929088959590
John A. 959090888578958388
Mickey T. 858888888892909090
Doug S. 858885838088838383

To view the complete scores and notes, click here.

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2020

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2020
Summary
"This was a very nice smoke. It didn't turn out to be the spice/pepper bomb that I expected based on its looks. I picked up lots of different flavors including floral, white pepper, creaminess, bubble gum, wood, and earth. I would definitely smoke this again, and would possibly consider a fiver. " -Mickey T. (irratebass)
Appearance
87
Aroma
90
First Third
89
Second Third
90
Final Third
88
Draw
89
Burn
93
Construction
84
Overall Experience
89
89
Good

More Stories
Aganorsa Leaf Rare Leaf Reserve Toro – Blind Cigar Review