Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2019

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2019

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2019 Cigar Info

made a return again last year after previously being seen in 2005 and 2009. This is said to be one of the best of General Cigars' brand. The limited version of this cigar was shown off at IPCPR. The vitola of the release is one of the same original four sizes used by Ramón Cifuentes, on the original Cuban version. It is a that measures 5.5″ x 49 and sells for $14.99 per cigar. comes in crystal tubes in boxes of 10 that sell for $149.99.

This cigar was reviewed blind (no bands) by a panel of at least 4 reviewers. They did not know what they were smoking beforehand. The scores are an average of all the reviewers' scores with outliers removed. All of our cigars reviewed are shipped to the panelists with Boveda packs to ensure optimal smoking experience.

The company says only .3% of their wrapper leaves are used for the . Each leaf goes through aging for 10 years. The remainder of the blend uses Honduran San Agustin binder, and Piloto Cubano from the , and Ometepe from Nicaragua for the filler.

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2019 Vital Stats:

Vitola:
Length: 5 1/2″
Ring Gauge: 49
Country of Origin:
Wrapper:
Binder:
Filler: , Nicaragua
Factory:
Blender: and General Cigar Blending Team
Number of reviewers: 4 () (Keikan Jim) (irratebass) (Bostoneo)
Price: $14.99
Age: 4 Months
Release Date: July
Contributed by: General Cigar

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2019 Initial Impressions

Appearance: 88

“A gorgeous dark chocolate brown wrapper adorns this slightly veiny and seam-full specimen.” – (Bostoneo)

Aroma: 89

“On the nose, a mellow chocolate note dominates with a hint of barnyard in the background. On the cold draw, similar chocolate notes, sugary wafers, and an overall rich and savory notes satisfies my curiosity.” – (Bostoneo)

First Third

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2019
Blind Cigar Review: |

Flavor: 88
Strength: Medium-Strong
Body/Complexity: Medium

“This vitola cut cleanly leaving a nearly perfect draw in place. Dry draw was like a sweet black tea. Very interesting. First puffs gave me an interesting cherry tartness with a dark bread like rye or pumpernickel. Strength seems high right out of the gate, with a very long finish and a peppery retro that can clear your sinuses. ” – (Keikan Jim)

“Cold draw I get a really nice sweet tea element with hints of cinnamon and some wood. Cigar is starting out quite creamy with bits of leather….strength is mild/medium. Nice ‘stack o' dimes' forming.” – (irratebass)

Second Third

Flavor: 89
Strength: Medium
Body/Complexity: Medium

“The profile is okay but, it seems like it's missing something. The cigar is very consistent the only change has been the spice

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2019
Blind Cigar Review: |

becoming more manageable. Just grassy brush fire. Draw and burn still performing wonderfully.” – ()

“Ash dropped at about the one inch mark and burn at this point is a little wavy but no touch ups thus far. Flavors have remained similar but the tartness from the first third has settled as well as the musty dark bread which has mellowed as well. A hint of cocoa has emerged to blend well with what has become a dark cherry (fruit) note. I'm liking the flavors of this little cigar. Strength has settled into a solid medium as well.” – (Keikan Jim)

Final Third

Flavor: 88
Strength: Medium-Strong
Body/Complexity: Medium

“The last third starts out with a medium-full bodied woodsy profile. Undertones of dark leathery notes, a salty slightly sweetness carries beneath. Not much changes from here on out, only an increase in the intensity of leather, which becomes overwhelming towards to the last inch.” – (Bostoneo)

“More defined wood note opens the last third. Cigar strength is medium plus.” – ()

Overall Impressions

Blind Cigar Review: Partagas | Limited Reserve Decadas 2019
Blind Cigar Review: |

Draw: 95

“Great open draw, very little resistance ” – (irratebass)

Burn: 93

“The only thing that kept my rating down was a slightly wavy burn in the second third. Otherwise the burn was nearly razor sharp. No relights were needed and smoke output was fantastic. ” – (Keikan Jim)

Construction: 93

“Excellent construction. Lots of ash, only dropped it on myself twice heh. Lots of smoke, never got hot. ” – (irratebass)

Overall Strength: Medium-Strong
Overall Body/Complexity: Medium
Experience Overall: 88

“An ok cigar for everyday smoking. Didn't wow me.” – ()

“I really enjoyed this cigar from start to finish. Great flavors and near perfect draw gave me nothing to complain about. If the price point is right it definitely box worthy and I could smoke it daily. I paired this with pecan coffee which was absolutely perfect.” – (Keikan Jim)

“This was a very good cigar. Lots of cream with leather along with white pepper. My only bitch was at the final two inches the spice really picked up and it became harsh. Would definitely smoke this one again. ” – (irratebass)

“A decent looking stick, with great pre-light aromas, and lackluster construction and burn. The flavor profile was okay, middle of the road for me, I feel the lightly packed/rolled tobacco caused this stick to burn too quickly, causing off flavors from the high burn temp. I'd smoke it again, but it wouldn't be my first choice as the flavor profile was pretty straight forward and didn't have a level of complexity that I am typically accustomed with true premium cigars. While not the bottom of the barrel in the premium world, a noteworthy smoke that you should try!” – (Bostoneo)

Smoking Time (in minutes): 80

Reviewer
Apr
Aro
1/3
2/3
3/3
Draw
Burn
Const
Ovr
All
87 83 85 88 90 95 95 90 87
95 95 90 90 95 97 92 95 95
87 88 90 90 88 93 90 95 90
87 92 85 85 88 85 83 83 85

To view the complete scores and notes, click here.

Blind Cigar Review: |

Overall Score – 90 – Very Good

Summary
"A decent looking stick, with great pre-light aromas, and lackluster construction and burn. The flavor profile was okay, middle of the road for me, I feel the lightly packed/rolled tobacco caused this stick to burn too quickly, causing off flavors from the high burn temp. I'd smoke it again, but it wouldn't be my first choice as the flavor profile was pretty straight forward and didn't have a level of complexity that I am typically accustomed with true premium cigars. While not the bottom of the barrel in the premium world, a noteworthy smoke that you should try!" - (Bostoneo)
Appearance
88
Aroma
89
First Third
88
Second Third
89
Final Third
88
Draw
95
Burn
93
Construction
93
Overall Experience
88
90
Overall Score - Very Good