Blind Cigar Review: La Aurora | 107 Cosecha 2006 Corona Gorda EspecialCigar Info

During IPCPR, launched three new products into the market: 1903 Edition Double Barrel Aged; Preferidos Parejo and 107 Cosecha 2006. These are the new additions:

This cigar was reviewed blind (no bands) by a panel of at least 4 reviewers. They did not know what they were smoking beforehand. The scores are an average of all the reviewers' scores with outliers removed.

If anything stands out about this product, it is definitely the year of harvest: 2006. This was certainly an excellent year in terms of weather conditions for the wrapper and the other components that make up this excellent cigar, elaborated with tobacco of the year 2006. The cigar has a Habana Vuelta Arriba (Ecuador) wrapper, a binder from Brazil, and filler of two leaves from Cibao Valley (DR), Nicaragua & Brazil. It comes in available sizes: Churchill (7 x 50), Corona Gorda (6 x 47) and Robusto (5 x 50). Prices $111.69 USD $109.50 USD $107.31 USD per box respectively.

Blind Cigar Review: La Aurora | 107 Cosecha 2006 Corona Gorda EspecialVital Stats:

Vitola: Corona Gorda
Length: 6″
Ring Gauge: 47
Country of Origin:
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano
Binder: Brazilian Mata Fina
Filler: & Nicaragua
Factory: Cigar Factory
Blender: Manuel Iona
Number of reviewers: 4 (Big Matt) (Jokey Smurf) (Zane) (A Huge Nerd)
Price: $10.00
Age: 6 Months
Release Date: October 2016
Contributed by: Cigars

Blind Cigar Review: La Aurora | 107 Cosecha 2006 Corona Gorda EspecialInitial Impressions

Appearance: 88

“Today we get to experience premium cigar sample 610. This cigar sports a slightly toothy wrapper and almost velvety hand feel albeit it is very light in the hand. The cigar sports seams which could be considered sloppy however if aged extensively I deem them acceptable, and chances are they’ll tighten post-light. Rustic veins mottle the mocha brown wrapper and along with that are some smattered dark spots. The cigar smells very Nicaraguan to me.. we have faint grass, hay and cream. On the cold draw, I’m picking up much of the same as the foot and wrapper with the addition of the hard outside coating of a bubble-gum ball. Physically, the cigar is more oval than round giving me the assumption this specimen has been resting in a bundle at the factory.” – (Big Matt)

Aroma: 88

“The aroma was faint from the wrapper, but had a nice sweet note a,d a hint of leather. The foot was defined by smells of cedar and an earthy characteristic. The cold draw was grassy and clean.” – (A Huge Nerd)

Blind Cigar Review: La Aurora | 107 Cosecha 2006 Corona Gorda Especial

Blind Cigar Review: | 107 Cosecha 2006 Corona Gorda Especial

First Third

Flavor: 86
Strength: Medium
Body/Complexity: Medium

“The initial flavors are surprisingly mild and have a slightly sweet and subtly spicy flavor that reminds me of a mild curry sauce. As the cigar warms up I begin to get a little more strength in the spiciness but nothing even close to overpowering. If I allow the smoke to linger on my palate I get a significant tongue tingle which reminds me of smoking a pipe too aggressively.” – (Jokey Smurf)

“The initial lighting comes right out of the gate with some bold flavors and lots of smoke. The flavors are mostly a leather, pepper, and some kind of sour fruit note. As the burn progresses through the beginning third, I notice some floral notes and a mild coffee flavor on the finish. The retrohale is smooth with just a hint of pepper.” – (A Huge Nerd)

Blind Cigar Review: La Aurora | 107 Cosecha 2006 Corona Gorda Especial

Blind Cigar Review: | 107 Cosecha 2006 Corona Gorda Especial

Second Third

Flavor: 88
Strength: Medium
Body/Complexity: Medium

“Med/Med. 2/3. Exhale is spearmint, square pink bubblegum, herbs, cream, earth and a mouth drying cream. Nose is bubblegum and spearmint. Complexity is lacking and flavors just build from the 1/3. Construction and burn impress.” – (Big Matt)

“The second portion developed a distinct charred wood flavor that quickly washed away the subtle sweet flavors that were so nice in the beginning. The tingling on my palate became stronger and was present at nearly every puff. I like a strong flavored cigar but honestly I hoping the flavors revert back to where they started. At this page I’m a bit concerned that my palate will become filled by the heavily peppered char.” – (Jokey Smurf)

Final Third

Flavor: 83
Strength: Medium
Body/Complexity: Medium-Full

“I just can’t shake that unpleasant bitterness. I smoked the entire final 1/3 and it was the only thing I could taste. At times I would get hints of something else trying to shine but it just didn’t happen.” – (Zane)

“Unfortunately, my sample really failed in the final third. It kept going out even though I was very attentive during the smoking process. The relights just brought harsh flavors to the profile which were acrid and unpleasant.” – (A Huge Nerd)

Overall Impressions

Draw: 90

“The draw on this cigar started off just a bit tight but opened up nicely and was not problematic at all for the duration of the smoke.” – (Jokey Smurf)

Burn: 91

“I found myself having to touch up fairly frequently.” – (Zane)

Construction: 89

“This cigar was ugly but once lit appearance improved as oil escaped from beneath the wrapper and seams tightened.” – (Big Matt)

Overall Strength: Medium
Overall Body/Complexity: Medium
Experience Overall: 85

“Overall cigar sample 610, was an average or a fair cigar. The profile was never balanced with the spearmint, square pink bubblegum, herbs, cream, earth and a mouth drying cream.. thru the nose was much the same. No spice. Flavors build throughout the experience but do not transition. This cigar had a good burn and draw unfortunately that does always equate to a great cigar. If I had to take a gander this is a Nicaraguan with Dominican criollo and corojo.”- (Big Matt)

“This is a cigar that started off quite nicely but transitioned into a harsh cigar and pepper bomb that ruined my palate for any flavors that may have returned in the end as the strength finally faded just a bit. I don’t see myself revisiting this again.” – (Jokey Smurf)

“I just couldn’t get passed the strong bitter taste I obtained through the first third. I was hoping it would transition away and something else would come alone. It really was a chore to smoke this cigar all the way through. If I had purchased this myself It would have been pitched.” – (Zane)

“When I have a cigar that reviews poorly, I always give the benefit of the doubt that I may have just gotten a bad sample. It is rare, but it does happen. This one would just not stay lit and it made the flavors unbearable. I hope to try this one again, if only to hope I had a dud this time around. Truth is, there were a few glimmers of hope with the flavor profile in the middle third.” – (A Huge Nerd)

Smoking Time (in minutes): 74

  • Appearance 88% 88%
  • Aroma 88% 88%
  • First Third 86% 86%
  • Second Third 88% 88%
  • Final Third 83% 83%
  • Draw 90% 90%
  • Burn 91% 91%
  • Construction 89% 89%
  • Overall Experience 85% 85%

Total Score - Fair

 

Reviewer
Appearance
Aroma
1/3
2/3
3/3
Draw
Burn
Constr.
Overall
Experience
858887878590909085
909090878390959085
879285838392888885
878885877888758578
#REF!
#REF!
#REF!
#REF!
#REF!
#REF!

To view the complete scores and notes, click here.

Blind Cigar Review: | 107 Cosecha 2006 Corona Gorda Especial